Educational System

There are 14 public schools in Whitehorse: 8 elementary schools, 2 Catholic elementary schools, 2 secondary schools, 1 Catholic secondary school and 1 K-12 French First Language school.

In the communities outside of Whitehorse, there are 14 public schools most offering Kindergarten to Grade 9 with several of the larger communities offering up to Grade 12 (K-12: Faro, Pelly Crossing,  Mayo, Dawson City, Haines Junction, Carmacks, Watson Lake).

Instruction is English-based for the majority of students. French and Aboriginal languages are widely offered as second language instruction. French Immersion and French First Language education is offered in Whitehorse.

Curriculum, Programs and Services

The Yukon is a full partner in the Western and Northern Canadian Protocol (WNCP). This protocol supports the development of common curriculum frameworks for Western and Northern Canada. Within these frameworks, the British Columbia program of studies forms the basis of the Yukon curriculum. This curriculum is frequently adapted to reflect local needs and conditions.

The Department of Education values experiential approaches to curriculum delivery and places a particular emphasis on literacy and numeracy. The Yukon supports early intervention initiatives such as full-day kindergarten pilot projects, pre-kindergarten programming and Reading Recovery.

Yukon schools have an inclusive philosophy for the education of students with special needs. To support this philosophy, the Department of Education uses a non-categorical model for allocating special education resources.

Yukon Schools are among the most 'connected' in Canada. All Yukon schools have access to high-speed internet service.